1.2 Painting Troubles

Basis spent the night in the firehouse, grateful that no one reported her for improper use of the facilities.

She doesn’t know what the policy of this town is towards sims who are not firefighters using the station. Just in case she cleaned everything she used to avoid leaving traces.

“It’s raining.” She said out loud. Maybe it would be good to stay inside the place and continue using the easel.

In the afternoon, the rain stopped and the sun came out strongly. Basis took advantage of the weather and went to the consignment store across the street.

“I have a couple of paintings that I would like to consign.” She said with a nervous tone, she didn’t know if her paintings would be good enough to be put up for sale.

Beau Andrews, who was in charge of the store, looked critically at her work.

“I think they are not that bad, I have sold worse things.” He said with all the authority of a sim who can’t stand art.


The next few days were a repeat of the same routine.

Use the fire station to fulfilll her needs and clean after herself as if nothing it’s being used.

Although seeing other townies use the facilities like her does make her wonder if she’s being a little paranoid about the whole thing. Maybe it’s just okay to use the place?

Another type of routine that she has started to have is receiving an almost daily call from Hank. Which she deeply appreciates. It’s thanks to him that she isn’t totally alone in a new town.

She senses that Hank is having some kind of problem, but doesn’t want to pressure him, so she talks about her new career as a painter.

“Apparently I have to register with the city hall if I want to dedicate myself to this formally. So I think I’ll do it tomorrow. If my parents saw me all responsible and such. Please don’t tell them.”

The laughter on the other end of the phone is answer enough to know she has at least lifted his spirits for a few minutes.

“My house? Now?” Basis asks a little surprised at Hank’s request to see her in her empty lot. “Give me an hour and I’m there.”

Basis got to her home long before Hank, and only when the sun was setting did the man arrive. She immediately noticed the mood he was in.

“You seem a little sad.”

“Not sad, just tired.” He replied with a sigh. “I think lately I’ve been making one mistake after another.”

“Another viral video I should know about?”

He laughed unexpectedly and a little of the weight on his shoulders lifted. This was one of the reasons why he liked Basis, she always had some unexpected comment that made him laugh. The other reasons, well this was not the time to think about those.

Getting serious again, he looked at her apprehensively. “Pauline is pregnant.”

“Wow, you’re more irresponsible than me.” Basis said before thinking of the words. “I’m sorry, I didn’t mean that.”

“Yes you do. And you’re right.”

She was silent not knowing what else to say. But he still wanted to talk.

 “I’ve tried to break up with Pauline several times, but every time I want to, she comes up with strange ideas on how to renew our relationship. Worst of all, I found a book on her bedside table with advice that looks a lot like what she’s been up to.”

“Well apparently the book has worked for her since she is now pregnant with your child instead of separated from you.” Basis has no filter between her brain and mouth.

He narrowed his eyes, but there was nothing to refute in her sentence.

“Not only do I worry about how I’m going to break up with her now that she’s pregnant, but I’ve also come to realize that following advice from a book isn’t the only weird thing she’s done lately.”

“Like what?” Basis asked intrigued.

But instead of an answer, she received a wave from Hank’s hand. “I’m not going to burden you with that problem too. You’ve heard me enough today.”

Suddenly Basis found herself receiving a hug from him. And if Hank stayed a little longer than necessary, well neither of them have to say anything about it.

That night, Basis went to bed with a heavy heart, but she didn’t want to examine the reason for it beyond a friend feeling sympathy for another.


Following their talk, Hank didn’t call her as much as he used to, and she preferred to give him space so she didn’t call him either. She filled her time with more painting.

She kept consigning her paintings.

“I’m surprised that they are selling, even at such a low price.” She said to Beau.

“I am also surprised, but there are always people who have bad taste in art.”

Wow, inappropiate much? She thought, but she wasn’t offended, she already knew the man pretty well. “You can’t stand art, B. I don’t think your opinion is important.”

“I say what I think.” That’s why they get along so well.

“Well, I’m going to the summer festival, today is a beautiful day and there are only a few days left before they leave town.”

“Have fun!” He said waving good bye.

Hank saw her across the street, leaving the police station at the end of one of his shifts.

Lately he had tried to call her, but every time he unlocked his phone he had thought about how his life was too complicated to involve Basis in it and gave up. Besides, she hadn’t called either.

But when he saw her in front of him, he couldn’t help but approach and greet her. Being in her presence was always nice.

She hugged him when she saw him. “Glad to see you, I was trying to give you space.” She said in that direct way of her, making him feel a lot better.

“Come.” She said taking his hand and dragging him to the another part of the park. “I was about to enter the hot dogs competition.”

He happily followed her.

Basis obviously didn’t want to tell him that this would be her first non-quick meal in days.

Of course, the teenage boy won. We all know that their stomach is a bottomless pit.

After the contest, they participated in other activities. Hank was thankful that Basis didn’t bring up the subject of Pauline at any point, he just wanted to have a fun day.

What he wasn’t grateful for is that a girl with zero sports experience beat him on every shot. Him, an experienced cop who worked out daily!

“And so I win!” Basis yelled from the ground as she held the ball tightly.

“It was pure luck!” He Yelled back, but with good humor. The evening had been the best he’d had in a long time.

At the end of the outing, he became much more serious. “My son was born a couple of days ago.”

The news did not surprise her, Basis had done the calculations.

“Some time before he was born I told Pauline that it would be best for us to part ways, but that I would always be there for her and the child.” He said in a low voice. “That time she didn’t answered me and continued as if nothing had happened. But hours after our son birth she told me that I was right, that we weren’t a good couple and that it would be better if we continued to be just co-parents. But as soon as we got home, she seemed to forget what she said to me and continued as if everything was still the same.”

“I don’t know what to tell you, I don’t know her personally to know if something is happening with her. Although the behavior that you describes to me seems quite erratic.”

“Erratic. Yes, that word describes her well.”

“Thank you.” Suddenly Hank grabbed her shoulders and came dangerously close. Basis froze. “You are the only person that I have truly by my side.”

“I’m your friend, you can count on me.” She said with a sigh, but it was enough for the energy to change as the moment passed.

In the end they said goodbye with a simple hug. Although the situation was not simple.

Basis watched him ride his bike away thinking she wanted to put a smile on his face.

Maybe I really drew it in his face with green paint. She thought irreverently.


A Watcher’s Note: This chapter ended up being more serious than the previous one, so there isn’t much continuity in that sense, but I’m happy how it turned out. So I will continue like this, some chapters will have more serious tones than others according to what the sims and my imagination dictate. Maybe I can do a dramatic comedy, I like the challenge.

2 thoughts on “1.2 Painting Troubles

  1. Basis is hilarious! She was so mean to Hank and then complained that some guy didn’t like her art and didn’t know why anybody was buying it lol
    Also I heard this in Butthead’s voice; “COme… to the hOt DoG eatign ConTEst.”
    I hope your rolls for her include adopting Hank’s kid. I just want to see how they all get along, raising a family at the firehouse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. About Hank’s children. Spoilers spoilers. LOL. I’m writing a new chapter so you’ll know soon.

      Like

Leave a comment