1.4 Hank’s New Life

Hank’s new life was as different from his old one as it could be.

And despite sitting in a chair rescued from the dumpster and sleeping in a small room, it was much better than before. Even the salad made with wild lettuce harvested from one of the fishing spots seemed better.

Or maybe it was that he was living with someone that made all of this seem like an adventure. Basis was a bit childish, or a lot to tell the true, but that was something Hank found adorable about her. Not that he was going to tell her, he didn’t know how she would take being considered adorable. Knowing her it could go in any way.

Going to work knowing that his son was in good hands was a great relief.

“Come, little man, it’s time to learn some words.”

Of course, as soon as she sat Collar on the ground to work on his pronunciation, it started raining.

“Can you say gloves?”

“Goves.”

“Almost. It’s very important that you learn how to pronunce it, since in a few years I will teach you how to use them. And do you know why it’s important that you do it? Just to annoy my mother, she wouldn’t let me learn to box as a child.”

Collar looked at her with the understanding of a small child, which is almost none.

“Now, say star.”

“Tad.”

“This word is important because if in the future you marry a star, you can support your father and me for the rest of our lives.”

“Maybe I should teach you more important words like work, but I think it’s better that you already know what the priorities in your life are going to be and, at least for me, working is not one of them.”

“No wok.” Collar stumbled over his words but Basis’s message seems to have been understood.

“Perfect! You are going to go very far, my little man.”

“Who dares to interrupt my great impartation of wisdom?” Basis said annoyed. “What do you want me to do? Take a 750 simoleon painting to China? Are you crazy? The trip is more expensive than that, I’m just going to lose money!”

What Basis didn’t want to explain to the caller is that her paintings are barely worth 100 simoleons, so it would be a long time before she could fulfill the order.

Hank came home from work excited to surprise Basis with the promotion he had gotten and with the bonus they gave him they could buy a bed. But the surprised one was him.

“Everything you do you do with style, you are truly magical.”

“Are you checking my butt?”

“It’s avery nice butt.”

“Hey! That’s my line!”

“How was your day, love?”

“It was very good, Collar learned to say a few important words and I got a call from some crazy person who thinks I can paint the mona lisa or something.”

“Err…”

“You don’t have to say anything, we both know my paintings aren’t worth that much, I still don’t get how the consignment guy wants to buy them.”

“Art is subjective and your paintings must have something that catches the eye.” Hank said very diplomatically.

Despite having become a family man, Hank is still who he always was, so he doesn’t miss an opportunity to show off his shapely body, even if it’s only to his son.

With his new promotion came more responsibilities, Hank is now in charge of making reports for the police station.

“Last night there was a report of disturbing noises in your house and there were witnesses who reported seeing several people running out of your house naked, do you have anything to say about this?”

“I am not responsible for what happened last night, once a month my sister asks me to borrow my house to throw parties that I prefer not to attend. The truth is that I don’t really agree with what she does there and sometimes I think that I should stop lending her my house, but then I remember that she is married to Gunther and I understand why she wants to have those meetings.”

“I know that sometimes those parties get out of control. On the last one I attended, one of her guests wanted to show us what he could do with a baseball bat and… on second thought, it’s better if I don’t tell you about that.”

“You were very helpful, thank you very much. The commissioner wants a report for when the next party is.”

“What are you going to do? I don’t want to get my sister in trouble. Willthey give her a fine? I hope the commissioner doesn’t want to put her in jail.”

“Oh no, nothing like that. She wants to know when the next party is so she can participate.”

The problem with having a girl just out of her teens like Blair Wainwright in charge of the police station is that she finds a lot of the infractions that the sims in this town commit amusing.

The entire family was invited to a costume party hosted by Justine Keaton, Hank’s co-worker. Hank hoped the party will be fun and not just a few weird sims being even weirder than usual.

Not such luck, Iqbal Alvi was discussing with a teddy bear the pros and cons of having ghosts haunting the house while Agnes Crumplebottom was arguing with another sim through the wall. At least Basis seemed to be having fun. Thought the man.

The sim Agnes was arguing with seemed to be listening and responding to her without problem from the other room.

Then, the same woman started arguing with Nick Alto since they both had the same costume.

“Look, woman. Couldn’t you have put on another custome? Yeti’s would have looked good on you.”

“Are you implying that I am a beast? Is it because I work as a bouncer? If you’re so interested I can show you what my arm can do.

“You see? the yeti would have been perfect.” Nick said with the impunity of being the most famous criminal this town gives him.

“Look maybe you can dress up as a flowerpot, that’s basically what you are since we all know your wife is the one in charge.”

“Burn.” Said Iqbal.

“Look, here I have some flowers that you can use to complete your costume and be a real pot.”

“Woman, you don’t know who you’re messing with. I’m Nick Alto and if you don’t take off that suit right now I will turn all my minions against you.”

“Do you mean your wife?”

Meanwhile, Hank was reading in the background, he sure knows how to have fun at a party.

“In the end I always get what I want.”

“That’s what you’d say, I only took my costume off because I have to go to work. Maybe you could try doing that.”

Collar was having a good time, taking the opportunity to use all the toys he didn’t have at home.

Despite everything, the party was fun and they got home late. While they were at the party the room was widened a bit and a bed was placed.

It is possible that the use of the new bed has brought some consequences.

3 thoughts on “1.4 Hank’s New Life

  1. I had to read all the previous posts to catch up, but now I’m caught up! Your writing style is hilarious. I love how everything is mostly humorous, even when you include moments of drama. 🙂
    The entire argument between the two hot dog costumes was amazing. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The moments of drama are my attempt at serious writing, but for the life of me the sims don’t seem to let me do it.

      Like

      1. I understand completely–I love when blog authors write more “serious” stories, but for me, the inherent nature of the game makes it difficult to take my own stories too seriously. I just can’t get that deep!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment